Unlock the mystery of the language of yoga with this comprehensive list of terms, meanings, and Sanskrit translations for Hatha, Bikram, Iyengar, Ashtanga and other forms To find metaphysical words and terms go to:          
A Meaning or definition
Abhasan power of creation, the experience of having created some external visable object.
Abhilasa the desire for completion.
Abhinavagupta a teacher of Kashmir Shaivism who lived in Kashmir during the 10th century, author of texts on Kashmir Shaivism including The Tantra Loka, Vijnayana-bhairava, and other works.
Abhyantara internal
Abhyasa practice, the act of practicing.
Acharya Teacher or Guru
Adho Downward
Adho Mukha Svanasana Downward Facing Dog Pose
Adho Mukha Vrksasana Downward Facing Tree Pose or Handstand
Advaita Non duality
Adwaita a philosophy according to which there is no duality, only a singular state of consciousness
Agni fire, the god of fire.
Agnisar kriya one of the shatkarmas (cleansing practices), intestinal cleansing.
Agnistambhasana Fire Log Pose
Aham ego
Ahamkara pride or ego
Ahimsa non-violence, non-injury, one of the yamas.
Ajapa japa spontaneous repetition of 'soham' mantra.
Ajna chakra energy center located behind the forehead or between the eye brows, state of intuitive wisdom consciousness.
Alabdha bhumikatva not able to hold on to what has been undertaken.
Akarm Dhanurasan Shooting Bow Pose
Akasha ether or space.
Akbar the 16th century king of Kashmir who built the famous Shalimar Gardens.
Alasya laziness
Amarnath Caves located in the Himalayas, a sacred place dedicated to the god Shiva.
Amrita Immortality
Amrtam Nectar of everlasting life.
Anahat chakra energy center in the "subtle body" associated in the "physical body" with the heart.
Anahata chakra energy center located in the heart region, fourth of the seven chakras.
Anahatasana Melting Heart Pose
Ananda bliss, ecstasy.
Ananda Balasana Happy Baby Pose
Anandabhatarika divine presence governing the yamas & niyamas.
Anandamaya kosha the sheath of bliss.
Anantasana Side Reclining Leg Lift Pose.
Anavamala the most subtle impurity of consciousness, when one can not hold on to the Shiva state, when one has a feeling of being incomplete.
Anavopaya means of increasing self-awareness using mantra, breath, and cognitive organs.
Angamejaytatva unsteadiness in the body.
Anjali Mudra Salutation Seal
Anjaneyasana Low Lunge or Crescent Pose
Annamaya kosha tnatomical sheath of man.
Antar inner or internal.
Antar dhauti internal yoga cleansing (shatkarma) techniques.
Antar kumbhaka internal breath retention, the stage of pranayama where breath is retained after inhalation.
Antar mouna internal silence, a meditation practice.
Anu the individual, limited being.
Anubhava experience, realization.
Anugraha power of revealing.
Anusara yoga called heart-oriented, this yoga integrates the celebration of the heart, universal principles of alignment, and energetic asanas.
Apanasana Supta Balasana or Knees to Chest Pose
Aparigraha nongreed, nonhoarding, one of the five yamas, or restraints, which are the first of the eight stages of classical Yoga.
Ardha half
Ardha Bhekasana Half Frog Pose
Ardha Chandrasana Half Moon Pose
Ardha dhanurasana half bow yoga pose.
Ardha Matsyendrasana Half spinal twist yoga position
Ardha Navasana Half Boat Pose
Ardha Padmasana Half lotus pose
Ardha Uttanasana Standing Half Forward Bend
Arjuna hero of the Mahabharata and central figure of the Bhagavad Gita.
Asamprajnyata samadhi state in which no traces of thought are present.
Asan point in practice is the point where after in an asana one holds the breath and the mind goes into silence.
Asana yoga movement, position, pose or posture.
Ashrama a residential place of people living together, teaching or learning yogic tradition, a dwelling of intensive yoga practice.
Ashtanga yoga 1) eight fold path of yoga: yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, samadhi 2) challenging yoga to build strength, flexibility, and stamina.
Ashvamedha a Vedic ritual sacrifice.
Ashwini Mudra practice of contracting the anal sphincter.
Asmita Ego
Astavakrasana Eight Angle Pose.
Asteya Nonstealing, one of the five yamas, or restraints, which are the first of the eight stages of classic Yoga.
Atman soul, the individual being.
Astavakrasana Eight Angle Pose
Aum the universal mantra, cosmic vibration of the universe, represents the four states of consciousness, Sanskrit word meaning "all" represents the omnipresence of�Paramatma - also Om
Avadhuta Spirit or Mystic having moved beyond materialism or ego.
Avatar An incarnation of God.
Avesah Trance
Avidya Ignorance
Ayurveda Health Science in India